The Duke of Edinburgh Award

The Duke of Edinburgh Award is an award that is open to all young Canadians between the ages 14 – 25. It is a program designed to motivate youths to voluntarily become involved in a variety of personal development activities including community service, expeditions, skills and physical recreation.

The program is divided into three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Each level is divided into four sections: service, expedition and exploration, skills and physical recreation. Participants are welcome to choose any appropriate activity for each section. Assessment of the participant’s progress is conducted by anyone who is experienced in that particular activity and have observe the participant’s efforts over time. The participant is also required to produce an account of their expedition in the form of a presentation, a written log, a photo log or any other effective forms of communication.

Participants who successfully complete a level of the award is accordingly presented with that level’s badge and pin. For more information, visit the official Duke of Edinburgh Award website.

8th Markham Award Recipients


Vincent Chan
Vincent Chan
Timothy Lock

Leave a Reply